Review: Silent Planet – “The Night God Slept”

Silent Planet has just released their first full-length album – and Solid State Records debut – titled The Night God Slept.”

The Night God Slept is nothing short of a masterpiece. The storytelling is one of a kind, and the heavy, melodic instrumentation sets Silent Planet apart as unlike anything this genre has seen.

“…sets Silent Planet apart as unlike anything this genre has seen”

The Night God Slept is an enthralling collection of short stories about the “Seven Sisters of God’s dream.” In an interview with Indie Vision Music, vocalist Garrett Russell explains, “this album will be the Gospel narrative shown through women who suffered abuses by unquestioned systems of power.  This album will force us to look at the filthiest moments of humanity and ask us to rethink whose “story” is really being told.”

This album hits as hard lyrically as it does musically. Stories range from a Japanese girl at the time of the nuclear bombing (“Darkstrand (Hibakusha)”), to the cries of sex slaves forced into pornography (“XX (City Grave)”), to religiously sanctioned genocide of Native peoples (“Native Blood”). The Night God Slept is a journey that more than entertains listeners – it gets them involved.

This band has built a signature sound but somehow finds a way to keep variety and freshness in each song to suit the lyrical content.  From crushing and aggressive to beautifully atmospheric, The Night God Slept is musically astounding.  The band is a force of sound surrounding you as Russell’s impassioned vocals bring you to your knees.

The guitar work in songs like “Firstwake,” and “XX (City Grave),”  the vocal combination in “First Mother (Lillith),” and the sheer power behind “Wasteland (Vechnost)” are worth your full attention.

“Silent Planet are a driving force in an awakening revolution”

A few of the tracks appeared on their lastsleep (1944-1946) EP which was released earlier this year, but are presented with a few tweaks. (You can read me rave about that album here).

The album also features two instrumental tracks, “I Drowned In The Desert,” and “To Thirst For The Sea.” Older fans of the band will recognize these titles as part of a line from the song “Everything That Rises Must Converge,” off of their 2012 Come Wind, Come Weather EP.

The album art was done by Sean McCulloch, of Phinehas, who also adds guest vocals on “Darkstrand (Hibakusha).” Other guest vocalists include Rory Rodriguez of Dayseeker, Joel Quartuccio of Being As An Ocean, Nathan Mead of I, of Helix, and Natalie Nicoles of Branches, and The Wild Reeds, supplied the Madame Rouffanche quote in French on “Tiny Hands (Au Revoir).”

Silent Planet are a driving force in an awakening revolution that will reach far beyond the metal scene. It’s hard to believe this is a debut album.

With The Night God Slept, Silent Planet has given us an impressive 4.75/5

Check them out on Facebook, or at




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s